Thats the 1st run of the tear done.

When my alarm went off at 6.45 this morning I promptly switched it off and went back to sleep. My intention when I set the alarm last night was to get out of bed and go for a run before anyone else was up, clearly that didn’t happen. I have signed up to RaYP only the 25 mile challenge as 50 seemed far to much for my first attempt and I promised myself that I would start running TODAY!!

When I finally woke up at 8am I went down stairs stood on the scales (not as bad as I thought by the way) made a drink and went back to bed for have cuddles with my little boy and hubby, I sat there drinking my drink and thought to myself, its only the 2nd and you’ve already broken a promise to yourself. With that I got my ass out of bed, got dressed and headed out on my run. Since I hurt my hip last July its been difficult to run, some of it is the pain but mostly its mental. The worst thought goes through my mind, YOU CAN’T. Anyone who runs or who does any type of physical exercise will know that when you tell yourself you can’t do something, you wont do it. I started couch to 5k again last week in the aim of getting back up to 5k by spring and today I decided to not use the app and see how far I could run with out stopping, As I started my legs felt weak and I felt like I was running through treacle, I had to remind myself thats how I always feel when I start and not to give up, I kept setting myself little targets and by the time I made it back to my housing estate I had run 3.5k without stopping, showing that although I could run double that in July I haven’t lost it completely and that is a positive thought that I can use the next time I run. My hip is feeling very weak now but I’m hoping that it will start feeling better with every run.

My point here is that you should never break a promise to yourself. Those are the most important ones. Also with a positive attitude you can achieve anything you want!

Leave a comment